Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: Turn A Square 1 & 2 December 28, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 11:10 pm

My uncle’s roomate, David, and my brother are both the type of men who look good in beanie caps. Which is good because beanies are so darn easy to make. (It still makes me a little sad that Ron looks so incredibly bad in a beanie. He’d probably get a lot more handknit items if he could wear the easy, quick stuff.)

So, this year I went looking for a new beanie to make for each of them. I wanted something quick and easy, that used the yarn I already had in my stash, but was also fun and interesting enough to keep me into it. (I realize beanies only take a few hours, but if it’s a few hours of utter bordom, that can seem like a lifetime.)

I hadn’t really planned to make them the same pattern, but when I saw the Turn A Square by Jared Flood, I knew that was the perfect hat for them both. And I had some Cascade 22 and Noro in my stash! ( I don’t have really anything to say here, but I ended the last two paragraphs with a parenthetical thought, so I figured I should keep up the tradition.)

Anyway, here is David’s hat:

knitting

It was originally supposed to be my brother’s, but when I showed it to Ashton, his fiance, she said it looked too girly with the purple stripe at the bottom. That wasn’t an issue for David, so I slotted it for him and got to work on one for Justin…one without purple.

knitting 002

It’s not a very good picture, but you can see that I changed up the stripes a bit with this one.

Project: Turn A Square by Jared Flood (Rav Me!1) (Rav Me!2)
Yarn: Cascade 220 and Noro (unfortunately both were missing ball bands, so I don’t know the colors)
Needles: US 6 & 7
Date Started: (1) November 25, 2009 (2) November 29, 2009
Date Completed: (1) November 25, 2009 (2) November 30, 2009
Mods: (1) I did 2×2 stripes instead of 2×3 as the pattern states. It was an accident, I just didn’t read the pattern all the way through. (2) I did 2×5,4,3,2,1,1,2,3,4,5 stripes.

 

Leave a Reply

