Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: Glynis January 5, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 6:45 pm

A friend asked me if I would teach her how to knit socks toe up in exchange for Cookie A’s new book, Sock Innovation. I told her, “Of course.”

So, I have this new book and I’ve seen on Ravelry that several people are planning to knit the whole book. Since I like pretty much all the patterns in the book, I figured that’d be a good goal for me too, especially since the first one would be perfect for my Aunt Kathy for Christmas.

You see, Aunt Kathy has teeny tiny feet. She wears a 4.5 shoe. But she likes her socks high, so I needed to find a pattern with a rather high cuff, but one that would be easy enough to alter to fit a small foot. Enter Glynis.

knitting 001
(Sorry, I only have the one picture. I couldn’t very well try them on and Aunt Kathy hasn’t sent me a picture of her wearing them yet.) (hint, hint, Aunt Kathy)

Project: Glynis by Cookie A. (Rav Me!)
Yarn: Knit Picks Gloss in Burgundy
Needles: US1
Date Started: October 22 2009
Date Completed: December 7 2009
Notes: It took me so long because I took a break between the first and second sock to knit other gifts. Also, you nmay have noticed that I didn’t knit the pattern on the foot. I did that because I wasnt’ sure how well she’d like it in her shoe. I figured I ought to get her sold on hand knit socks first, then incorporate patterned feet.

 

One Response to “FO: Glynis”

  1. turtlegirl76 Says:

    Beautiful! I like the look of that. My mom doesn’t like patterned feet, but I find myself having a hard time finding an ankle length cuff that’s interesting enough. Too bad this one is so tall!


Leave a Reply

